Saskatoon is the largest city in the  Canadian province of  Saskatchewan, the Traditional Territory of Treaty 6 First Nations  and the Homeland of the Métis.

Saskatoon is home to the  the  Meewasin Valley Authority  and  Wanuskewin Heritage Park (a  National Historic Site of Canada  and  UNESCO  World Heritage applicant representing 6,000 years of  First Nations  history).

Fun Facts About Saskatoon

  • The name Saskatoon comes from the Cree inanimate noun misâskwatômina “saskatoon berries”, which refers to the sweet, violet-coloured berry that grows in the area.

  • The city has nine river crossings and is nicknamed ”Paris of the Prairies” and “Bridge City”.

  • The world’s largest potash producer, Nutrien, has corporate headquarters in Saskatoon